Accokeek Volunteer Fire Department Elections: Reflecting on the Past and Looking to the Future

Tonight, the Accokeek Volunteer Fire Department held its annual elections to determine the leadership and direction of the department for the coming year. It was an opportunity for members to come together and reflect on the past year, while also looking ahead to the future and setting goals for the next 12 months.

As the department gathered, there was a sense of pride in the accomplishments of the past year and a deep appreciation for the dedicated volunteers who have worked tirelessly to serve their community.

With the elections now complete, the Accokeek Volunteer Fire Department is excited to welcome its newly elected officials starting in February of this year. Along with the Board of Directors, the following positions were filled:

  • President, Glenn Sherman
  • Vice President, Shawndell Young
  • Secretary, Julie Hill
  • Treasurer, Darlene Grimsley
  • Chief, David Jordan
  • A Chief, Kathryn Lucas
  • Lieutenant, Alex Naar
  • EMS Captain, Victoria Kroon


Each of these individuals brings a wealth of experience and a passion for serving their community, and the department is confident that they will lead the department to even greater success in the year ahead.

As the department looks to the future, the goal is to continue to provide the highest quality of service to the residents of Accokeek and to stay at the forefront of the latest firefighting techniques and technology. This includes investing in new equipment, training programs, and community outreach initiatives, all aimed at keeping the community safe and prepared in the face of any emergency.

In conclusion, the Accokeek Volunteer Fire Department is proud of its past and excited for the future. With its new leadership in place and a commitment to serving the community, the department is poised to continue to provide the highest level of service and protection to the residents of Accokeek.